AWEBthatWORKS Network
Your one-stop web shoppe! - www.aWEBthatWORKS.com Do you have what it takes? - www.WebsiteTalent.com Fast-track your E-Business success! - www.TheWebCoach.ca Websites and More! - www.SueSutcliffe.com
Free Newsletter


Your address will never be rented or sold at any time, period.
Facebook Flickr RSS Feed
Twitter YouTube LinkedIn

Snopes confirms “Koobface Trojan Worm” Warning…

  • Sharebar

According to SNOPES

THERE IS A VIRUS SPREADING LIKE WILDFIRE ON FB. DO NOT ACCEPT ANYTHING FROM ANY OF YOUR FRIENDS THAT ASK YOU TO WATCH A VIDEO ON YOU -TUBE. SNOPES JUST CONFIRMED. IT IS A TROJAN WORM VIRUS CALLED KOOBFACE. IT WILL STEAL INFO, INFEST YOUR SYSTEM AND SHUT IT DOWN. DO NOT OPEN THE LINK. PLEASE REPOST THIS IN YOUR STATUS.

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “Snopes confirms “Koobface Trojan Worm” Warning…”

  1. j Says:

    Koobface warning for hacker “BARACK OBAMA CLINTON SCANDAL” (Trojan Worm Virus) associated with “SMARTGRRL15″.
    DENY ACCESS. DO NOT ALLOW UNLESS YOU WANT A VIRUS!

  2. David Morgan Says:

    Sue,

    Please read the entire Snopes article, particularly the last paragraph,
    wherein you will see that the two phrases used to create the current
    scare are completely bogus. Koobface must be downloaded and executed
    and is not malicious enough so as to shut down the PC… in fact, it needs
    the PC in order to propagate. Koobface has been with us on social networking
    sites for several years. I can offer no reason for the current, maddening craze
    with which people are once again circulating these bogus, erroneous e-mails.
    Facebook posts on anti-virus chat are popping in at the rate on one every two
    or three seconds, validating this false claim. Like so many sheep, they have not
    bothered to research the truth. All Snopes claim is real, is ‘koobface’ itself.

    http://nakedsecurity.sophos.com/2010/07/13/truth-facebook-knob-face-worm/

    http://nakedsecurity.sophos.com/2010/05/14/smartgrrl15-virus-hoax-lives/

    Cheers,

    DM

  3. Sue Sutcliffe Says:

    Thanks for clarifying this David Morgan. Appreciate that.

FOR MORE INFORMATION
contact aWEBthatWORKS.com

1 (800) 579-9253